Government forms four-member commission to probe gold smuggling scam


Kathmandu: The government has formed a four-member probe commission to investigate the gold smuggling case. The commission is led by former judge of the High Court Dilliram Acharya. Other members of the commission are Kishor Jung Karki, Premraj Joshi and Sahakul Thapa.    
Today's meeting of the Council of Ministers decided to form the commission, and the deadline for submitting the report is three months, informed the government spokesperson Rekha Sharma, also Minister for Communications and Information Technology. "The investigation commission has been formed to control illegal gold smuggling. The commission has been tasked with submitting the report with suggestions," said the minister.    
The decision to form the commission was taken following a discussion between Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda' and chairperson of the main opposition CPN (UML) KP Sharma Oli held in the Prime Minister's residence in Baluwatar today morning.    
In regard with the gold smuggling case, the UML and other parties had been demanding the formation of a high-level probe commission. On 23 October, 2023, the government and political parties had agreed to set up a high level probe commission by 22 September, 2023, and the commission would start its job from the same day.    
Prime Minister Dahal is scheduled to address the meeting of the House of Representatives today. On the occasion, the PM is slated to inform the House about the decision to form the commission.    
Earlier this morning, PM Dahal and UML Chair Oli held a discussion. Following the discussion, the PM also discussed the matter with the ruling parties. In the meeting today, all parties representing in the HoR were present except for the Rastriya Swatantra Party.