National Team for SAFF Championship announced


Kathmandu: The All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) has today announced the Nepali National Football Team for the 14th edition of the Men's SAFF Championship to be held in India.    
Head coach of the Nepali national football team, Vincenzo Alberto Annese, announced a 23-member team for the tournament, which will be held from June 21.    
The team includes goalkeepers Kiran Chemjong, Deep Karki and Bishal Shrestha. Similarly, the defenders are Bimal Pandey, Sanis Shrestha, Ananta Tamang, Devendra Tamang, Nishant Khadka, Rohit Chand and Simant Thapa. Pujan Uparkoti, Arik Bista, Naveen Lama, Manikumar Lama and Laken Limbu are the midfielders.    
Ayus Ghalan, Nawayug Shrestha, Deepak Rajsingh Thakuri, Anjan Bista, Manish Dangi, Ashish Chaudhary and Bimal Ghartimagar are the strikers.    
The eight countries participating in the tournament are divided into two groups. Nepal is in Group 'A' including Kuwait, India and Pakistan. Similarly, Group B includes Lebanon, the Maldives, Bhutan and Bangladesh.    
Nepal will play its first match against Kuwait on June 21, then against hosts India on June 24 and against Pakistan on June 27.